Need Help reviewing my build

The Imperial Royal Guard costume as seen in Revenge of the Sith

byun21

Need Help reviewing my build

Post by byun21 »

I have ordered a "cheap" costume online... That was a mistake. I have been trying to alter it to meet up with the standards, but it will take a lot more work. I decided to order a blueprint instead and work out the velvet fabric myself. I have no experience with hemming, sewing, and cutting fabric. I only have this picture so far of my build.
SelfSP1.jpg
SelfSP1.jpg (28.76 KiB) Viewed 274 times
The fabric I purchased was not labeled or named, so I am not familiar with the specific style. I just know it is not crushed velvet. I have added a Velcro piece on the back to allow it to fit over my head. I do have to redo the folds on the shoulders for the vertical folds on the front of the robe. I am not sure if my sewing is hiding the seam lines well enough and would appreciate any feedback.

The under garment was a thawb with long sleeves and of wine red color. The red leather gloves I bought online and also the black ankle high boots (not seen in the picture).

I attempted to buy a visor to cut out and tint, but failed several times. I then took the original visor and tinted that directly and placed magnets as spacers to allow airflow. I do have helmet fans, but have yet to set them in place for I am not sure how to get cool air from the lower part of the helmet to the top near the visor to prevent fogging. I was planning to create an air vent using silicone tubes from the fan and leave the open end near the visor.

I made the force pike by cutting down a pool cue and either screwing, gluing, sanding, and painting. The knob portion I am holding (that you cannot see) was an extra end piece of a curtain rod holder. The black grips were made of exercise bar grips that were cut down to size.