New ROTJ Guard Build -- Getting organized

The Imperial Royal Guard costume as seen in Return of the Jedi

growlly

New ROTJ Guard Build -- Getting organized

Post by growlly »

Hello Protectors, I'm a new prospect and I'm looking to get organized so I can save up and start working on a build that I can have ready towards the end of the year. I've browsed around the forums quite a bit, and I've compiled some information on costume parts that I thought would be very helpful for future prospects. I also have a few open questions, and I'll put those in bold. Note that I'm in the US, so prices are in US dollars. If I say ~$50, I'm giving an estimate, and I have zero costume experience so I could be wildly inaccurate.

1) Helmet $231 Amazon link
- My understanding is that this Rubies helmet is basically ready to go, minus a modification to the visor. Can someone give any more detail on the modification needed to be 501st ready?

2) Robe Pattern $8 Amazon link, Forum link

3) Inner Robe Fabric ~$50 Fabric store link
- I found a link to this in another thread. I don't know how many yards one would need, but including gloves and sash (and margin for error since I've heard gloves are tough), I'm assuming 10 to be safe.

4) Outer Robe Fabric ~$50 Fabric store link
- I'll probably have to buy the outer robe fabric locally in order to match it to the helmet, but hopefully this product is good enough for a price baseline.

5) Force Pike (home made) ~$45 Sir Ken's build or Bdgr's build
- I would have preferred to buy a nice one rather than make one, but it seems vastly cheaper to make one.

6) Sash Obi How-to Link
- I would (or rather, I would convince my wife to) make this out of the inner robe fabric.

7) Gloves How-to link
- Again, these would be made from the inner robe fabric.

8) Boots $51 Amazon link