First Attempt at ROTJ RG build

The Imperial Royal Guard costume as seen in Return of the Jedi

rledaman

First Attempt at ROTJ RG build

Post by rledaman »

Hello Protectors,

Brand new to costuming, unfortunately. So I am creating a thread to post what I have been able to do and you can help give me advice and get me started :)

I have done a ton of research and haunted these boards for the past few months before I started my build.

I saw from one of Ang's posts that she has used SyFabrics for her fabric, so I have a couple of feet of fabric from them in the red velvet. They were out of the burgundy so I haven't acquired that.

I have also already purchased 2 of the little mini ACs that people suggested on the helmet cooling thread on these boards.

That, so far, is the extent of what I have. I have a friend who likes crafting tools and weapons so I can probably manage a forcepike without too much extent. But I have never built a costume before and really don't even know where to start.

Any tips for what I want to pay attention to when trying to sew the robes?

As for the helmet, I am so lost. I can't vacuform and I don't have any skill with making such things. I looked into what helmets are out there and TPE was recommended many times but I am not sure that I can dip into the funds for a TPE helmet without ruining my chances of making to Celebration Anaheim.

*sobs into his hands* I need a Jawa or two to go out there and strip me a few good parts. :jawa:

Gruff
TKID: 11014

Re: First Attempt at ROTJ RG build

Post by Gruff »

You're on the right track. Keep looking around the forums. There are some patterns for robes I have come across. If you haven't had much experience with sewing though, I would say be extremely careful. Velvet is not that easy to sew and it could end up costing you a lot more if you make mistakes. Ask your family and friends who having sewing experience to help you out.