Fiberglass reinforcement on helmet...

For modifying the Don Post helmet, adding the extras for a Crimson Empire helmet, as well as painting, padding, speakers, fans, etc.

Kalashnikov

Fiberglass reinforcement on helmet...

Post by Kalashnikov »

I'm thinking of fiberglassing the inside of my helmet with Bondo Fiberglass Resin. I have the Rubies Supreme Edition helmet, which is cheap plastic, an I hear it's prone to cracking in hot and cold weather. I've never used fiberglass before, so I'm hoping to get some advice before I start.

Have any of you reinforced your helmet with fiberglass? Any recommended do's and don't?

Also, I hear Bondo Fiberglass Resin smells really REALLY bad as does all fiberglass stuff. But I hear the smell never, ever goes away. And if it's going to be inside my helmet, next to my face, and I'm smelling it all the time, it's going to either get me high or give me a massive headache.

Any help would be hot.

stripes
Former DL
TKID: 3676

Re: Fiberglass reinforcement on helmet...

Post by stripes »

melthecrow wrote:I'm thinking of fiberglassing the inside of my helmet with Bondo Fiberglass Resin. I have the Rubies Supreme Edition helmet, which is cheap plastic, an I hear it's prone to cracking in hot and cold weather. I've never used fiberglass before, so I'm hoping to get some advice before I start.

Have any of you reinforced your helmet with fiberglass? Any recommended do's and don't?

Also, I hear Bondo Fiberglass Resin smells really REALLY bad as does all fiberglass stuff. But I hear the smell never, ever goes away. And if it's going to be inside my helmet, next to my face, and I'm smelling it all the time, it's going to either get me high or give me a massive headache.

Any help would be hot.
If you are referring to the new Rubies supreme helmet, it is not prone to cracking in heat like the old Don Post was. It is a solid helmet (as it should be for the hefty price tag).