New ROTJ build

The Imperial Royal Guard costume as seen in Return of the Jedi

Myatt1871

New ROTJ build

Post by Myatt1871 »

Hi all. I'm pretty new to all this so hopefully you guys could help. I'm hoping to build a full costume, currently working on the soft robes and 'thawb' under robe. Any advice or tips would be appreciated especially with regards to the fabric. included is a photograph of three fabrics, two for the lining/thawb and one for the main outer. All are cotton velvet but I was hoping to see what you guys all think?

http://s86.photobucket.com/user/Myatt18 ... sort=3&o=0

http://s86.photobucket.com/user/Myatt18 ... sort=3&o=0

http://s86.photobucket.com/user/Myatt18 ... sort=3&o=2

Thanks in advance!

Crimson8
TKID: 18887

Re: New ROTJ build

Post by Crimson8 »

Hi where are you from?

From my experience getting a Guard complete, the last photo is looking like a good red for the outer robe. Then your helmet will be painted to match and look outstanding. I used double velvet red, but I believe old glory velveteen is good too. Just steer clear of anything stretchy and Panne velvet or crushed velvet will not be approved.

Inner lining should be burgundy or wine. . I'm not sure what colour that second photo is but it's pretty dark. I used burgundy broadcloth. It's cheap and good to wear. You're going to be walking in a glorified curtain so it's best to go with lightest material for inner lining. And you'll use same material for the Obi sash so go for a cheap fabric if you can.
AUSSIE AOTC ROYAL GUARD: Raising the forcepike in Tasmania

Myatt1871

Post by Myatt1871 »

Hi I'm from the UK but would pay to import the right materials if it came to it.

So the outer red seems ok?

and the other was advertised as wine but upon arrival it seemed a little more purple than expected. The other is certainly better colour wise its just also quite expensive so I thought I'd check for alternatives.

Thanks for everything :)

Starwarsgeek18
TKID: 10565