ROTJ Royal Guard Build Build & Questions

The Imperial Royal Guard costume as seen in Return of the Jedi

McBoushh
TKID: 19083

ROTJ Royal Guard Build Build & Questions

Post by McBoushh »

Greetings!
I am helping a local gentleman make the soft parts of the royal guard and was hoping I could get some feedback/suggestions. I have made other costumes before, so I do have some experience (I’m no pro but I do enjoy learning new things). I’ve made my Boushh, Jawa, A’Sharad Hett, and other odds & ends for other 501st members. I've never made this particular costume before, so I started last month by going off of what the 501st website CRL has along with the original trilogy costume book (just to see how the outer robe lays). I noticed that the CRL here within the forums has different wording (has more detail) than the CRL on the 501st site, so I’m a little confused.
I have a burgundy color cotton blend fabric that I have sewn in to the required thrawb, but the forums state it should really be velvet. Which is acceptable? I do have red and burgundy velvet ordered for the outer robe, so the two burgundy’s should match. They just haven’t come in yet, so I still need to make sure they match. If they don’t, I’ll redo the inner robe.
I see in the CRL in the forums states you can add slits on the bottom to make walking easier. Is there a height limit for that? And would it be ok for them to be on each side or just the back of the thrawb? I was estimating up to just below the knee. aAso, would adding a zipper in the back be approval? i was hoping to make it easy to take on and off if possible.

I’ll see if I can add a picture of the inner robe I started, the only one I currently has is in a super rough beginning stage. I do have the sash/belt completed, so i'll add a picture of that with the inner robe.

Any feedback is welcome! I’m sure I’ll make plenty of mistakes before getting it correct. I prefer to get it right for when he submits.

Sascha_Wilsing
Former DL
TKID: 12112